Thursday, February 21, 2008

Rejected by a FWB??


A while back I mentioned how I may or may not have hooked up with a friend of mine. This is a guy I don't think I'd ever date (too short), but apparently I wasn't above sleeping with him (height doesn't matter when you're lying down, am I right? Heh heh heh). Anyway, I am a little concerned at this point that he's not into this whole Friends With Benefits thing. I drunk texted him last week asking if he'd like to "stop by" *cough, cough*, and he said "I want to, but I can't, I'm working until late" or something like that. "No biggy", I told myself. But I haven't heard a thing from him since then. AND I AM IRRITATED. I don't want to be rejected by someone I'm not even dating - that is just....well, I can't even think about it it's so horrid! I am awesome! I am good in the sack! He should totally want some more Good Times with Misti.

Truthfully, I have never tried doing the whole FWB thing and I'm not sure how this is supposed to work. Do you establish it up front? Create a schedule? Is there a committee? A vote? Does it just happen naturally (with a lot of help from Absolut)? And what if it doesn't just happen? I am not about to call someone and out right say "hey, want to do it later?" I have some class. Not much, but SOME.

Also, I think I need something other than boys to obsess about. Yes? Yes.

From now on I'll only blog about crocheting. That is a super exciting topic! Stay tuned!

5 comments:

Muffy Willowbrook said...

In my experience, FWB's have no polite tactics, and blowing you off for working late then not calling you for a few days is part of the whole "We're Not Actually Dating" concept - but that doesn't mean it cant' suck.

I did have one FWB where we had explicit ground rules set up. 10 different rules we could not violate.

And Absolut is really the main conduit to any and all FWBs.

Good Luck.

Misti said...

Good point - he doesn't have to be polite/considerate...there can't be any expectations. Hm. I wonder if I'm cut out for this.

Brianinmpls said...

Word Verification say "VNGYA" It feels dirty.

I am a good FWB Holla

Peter said...

Hmmm... did you get a little skittish when he mentioned bringing jumper cables and a goat into the bedroom?

Anonymous said...

Awe f*ck em! just find a new one... they are like a dime a dozen.

You could walk into any bar and announce you want to get laid and you'd have about 5 takers right away.

However if you can find that one FWB who thinks just like you do.. it sure can be fun.